Menu
Headteacher's Blog
Headteacher's Blog

World and European medal winning athlete Jenny Meadows was the inspirational speaker who presented our outstanding pupils with their awards at this year’s Ormskirk School Sports Awards. It was a wonderful occasion, recognising and celebrating the commitment and success of the pupils.  Jenny shared her belief in the importance of: resilience, maximising talent and fulfilling potential, drawing on a support network, learning the important lessons from challenges and set-backs so that you grow, and believing in yourself, your dreams and ambitions. The enjoyable evening included some games and concluded with a celebration disco. My thanks to Ms Goff and the PE team for their organisation of the event, Smart Move for their sponsorship, and to all who attended and made it a success.

Another elite athlete was in school this week, as we welcomed World Champion bobsledder Nicola Minichiello. Nicola is mentoring some of our Year 10 pupils as part of the Get to the Start Line programme of the Youth Sport Trust. It is wonderful that athletes like Jenny and Nicola give of their time and effort to inspire the next generation.

Dates for your diary

Tuesday, 27th June
Able & Ambitious Challenge Day
Thursday, 29th June
Year 12 Higher Education Day
Thursday, 29th June
College Presentation Evening
Monday, 3rd July
Year 11 Leavers' Assembly
Tuesday, 4th July
Year 12 Higher Education Information Evening
Wednesday, 5th July
Year 7 Maths Road Show
Wednesday, 5th July
Dance Fever
Friday, 7th July
Year 7 China Day
Tuesday, 11th July
Summer Concert
Thursday, 13th July
College Presentation Evening
Monday, 17th July
Able and Ambitious Day
Thursday, 20th July
Challenge Day